A simple but effective Valentine’s Day message

Unless you have been living under a rock for the past several weeks, you might be aware that this coming Tuesday is Valentine’s Day. There have been countless commercials and ads for gift ideas such as chocolate covered strawberries, flowers, jewelry or dinner at your sweetheart’s favorite restaurant. The main theme that I seem to hear is about showing your partner how much you care. These things are certainly helpful in showing him or her on how much you really care, but I would add another thing that really shows how much you are passionate about the relationship. Write a simple love letter. That letter might get a bigger response from any expensive jewelry that you may buy.

Several years ago, I was in a relationship with a young woman from a different state. Valentine’s Day fell in the middle of the work week so I could not travel to see her. Instead, I sent her flowers and a nice note attached to it from the florist. She in turn sent me this really nice card with a 3 page handwritten note inside. It was one of the best and nicest love letters that I have ever received from a woman. She went into great detail about how much I really meant to her and how lucky she was to have me in her life. I nearly melted when I read this letter. There were many tears in my eyes after I finished the letter. I would have given her the biggest hug in the world had she been next to me. I was overcome with emotion as I finished reading it. It was the best Valentine’s Day card ever!

Since then, we are no longer seeing each other and I have lost contact with her. I don’t know if I will ever see her again. But one thing is for certain, I will never forget the feeling I had when I opened that card and read her lengthy letter. Sometimes the simplest things can go a long ways in showing your partner how much you really appreciate them. I know hand writing a letter seems really old-fashioned but it really worked on me. When I hear words such as “I am the luckiest woman in the world to have met you” that is enough for me. I don’t need any fancy gifts. I just want a woman to say to me how special I am to her. That is what Valentine’s Day is all about. Chocolate candies are nice, but a meaningful love letter is even better!

 

2 thoughts on “A simple but effective Valentine’s Day message

  1. Thanks for writing this. I agree wholeheartedly, both as a recipient and as a giver. One anniversary, I took a card and filled every inch of every side of it with “I loved it when _________,” recalling every fun event, moment, dinner, etc., I could recall from the previous year. It was a huge hit, because it not only represented the thought and time I put into it, but it made it clear that every moment with her had made a lasting impact on my life. Thoughts, words and actions > stuff!

  2. Thanks for sharing, Rickey! Women just love those small acts of appreciation. I am sure that you really scored some serious brownie points with her.

Leave a Reply

