A part of me died when Prince passed away

It was around noon on Thursday when I heard the dreaded news. A co-worker of mine asked me if I heard any new information about Prince. Rumor was running rampant that he had passed away. I immediately checked my phone and the rumor was now a fact. The man who could arguably be called the Elvis Presley of my generation was dead. My shock was shared by many others in my office. It was one of the most difficult afternoons that I have ever experienced at my job. There were so many questions to be answered about his death. How could this happen to someone who was still pretty young?

Many people have spent the last 48 hours reminiscing about the music legend and what his music has meant to their own personal lives. I can honestly say that Prince was a huge symbol in a certain era of my life. Whenever I hear the song “Party till it’s 1999” it brings me back to my late high school days and some of the school dances that I used to attend. Those were the times of my life! Other songs of his really bring back memories of my college days when I used to drive around with the radio blaring loudly and my ex-girlfriend singing at the top of her lungs. She loved Prince. His extremely well produced music videos on MTV are another thing that I most fondly remember about Prince. “When Doves Cry” is a classic video of his. The 80’s and early 90’s were a special time in my life and when I hear some those classic Prince songs today, I think back to an era that really stood out in my life.

Will Prince go down as the great musical artist of all-time? Very few performers were as versatile as him. He could excel at playing just about any instrument, most notably the guitar and piano. Furthermore, his drive at perfection is what stood out by many who worked with him. He once went through a 2.5 hour sound check. Yes, 2 and 1/2 hours! Imagine being a part of that crew? That attention to detail in his performances and recordings separated him and made him so great. There are probably thousands upon thousands of great musical artists in this world, but what separates the haves from the has beens are those little details and just plain hard work. His rise to the top after being told that he could not make it should be an inspiration to people of all fields.

Prince is gone but his music and memories will go one forever. Many people my age grew up listening to Prince. It seemed like a part of all us died when he passed away. Sure there were other great musical pop artists such as Madonna and Bruce Springsteen in that era, but Prince and his songs really stood out to me. He was a one of a kind artist. There are many things that define my teenage to early 20’s years, school, sports, hanging out with my buddies, chasing after girls and listening to the great tunes of Prince on the radio and watching his music vidoes.  RIP to a great musical artist. A whole generation of people were lucky to have you be a part of it. We cannot thank you enough for making our memories so much sweeter.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

