5 New Year’s resolutions for everyone

Well it is that time of year again when the nasty r word starts to surface again. Yes, I am talking about New Year’s resolutions. Whether you want to admit or not, nearly everyone has some resolution that they would like to accomplish in the next year. For me personally, I have a couple that I would like to tackle; number one, being on time more. Number two, improving my cooking skills. You see, I have absolutely zero skills! Regardless of what your own personal resolutions are, there are 5 important ones that I think every individual should think about achieving.

1. Meet 5 new friends – Many of us have had our own little network of friends forever. Some have had the same friends since early childhood.  Why not expand that base to include 5 new friends every year? With the rise of the internet and social media, it is much easier these days to meet people online. I have personally met some great people in the past several years from very long distances away. Or you could get involved with more local activities and meet new and exciting people there. The possibilities are endless. Having more friends is a great way to enrich your life.

2. Travel more – How many of you have traveled more than a 100 miles in the past year? A good many people never leave their neighborhood! I am not talking about flying to Europe, but rather visiting some place that you have never seen before. It could be as simple as taking a 2 hour drive in your own state to some nice vacation resort. You personal sanity may be helped when you get away from your own familiar surroundings.

3. Pick up one new hobby – In my mind, a person with multiple hobbies is a person full of life and excitement, a person without any hobbies is a dull and boring person. And please don’t tell me that your job is your hobby!! Several years ago, I never thought that I would like photography as much as I do now. Perhaps cooking will be my next passion.

4. Give out at least one compliment a day – Instead of always criticizing people, a compliment is a better option. This is especially true at the workplace. Try to be more complimentary towards others. If someone does a great job, tell them so. Outside of the workplace, spend more time complimenting your spouse, girlfriend, boyfriend, children or friends. Giving out compliments always makes me feel better afterwards, much more so than criticizing someone. Everyone needs to do more complimenting.

5. Watch at least one comedy movie/show a week – They say that laughter is the best medicine and believe me, it is! I can’t tell you the number of times that my mood has change 180 degrees from watching a hilarious show or movie. It just seems like there are too many people in a foul mood these days which leads to many issues in our society. A good dose of laughter might be just what our society needs.

Well anyways, I want to wish everyone a Happy New Years and best of luck in 2016.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “5 New Year’s resolutions for everyone

Leave a Reply

