Those awkward first dates

So you have met that promising prospect on an internet dating site who appears to be everything that you have ever hoped for in a partner. You guys have been exchanging emails frequently in the past few weeks along with a few text messages and phone calls. Now is the time to finally meet face to face. Millions of single people and yes, perhaps some married, have gone through this anticipation of finding out more about this mysterious person. What are they like in person? They sure sound nice based on the text messages you have received or the phone conversations, but in person, are they still that charming or is it just some front that they are putting up? It is a big mystery that makes first dates very fascinating and at times, a little awkward when a couple of strangers meet in person for the first time.

I must confess that being a single person, I have gone on several first dates in my life. I sometimes wonder while driving to our meeting place if this is really worth it. I feel like I am about to go on a job interview. The pressure is on; do my clothes look good? How will I be able to handle some of the questions that may come up? What if she turns out to be totally different from what her profile indicates about her and I find myself greatly disappointed in the first few minutes? Or perhaps the opposite happens, she turns out to be a knockout and I suddenly get extremely nervous and intimidated over her looks. I may try to hard to impress her. The level of uncertainty and the fact that you are trying really hard to make a good first impressions can lead to a lot of awkwardness and nervous moments.

As I have gotten older and just maybe? a little wiser, I have put aside the thought that a first date should be like a job interview. It should be a fun and fascinating experience for both of you. What do you have to lose? If the date does not go well and the hopes that you really built up are suddenly shattered, move on and find someone else! There are plenty of other people out there. Plus you have gained some valuable dating experience by going on this date. The more dates you go on, the more you learn how to handle the awkwardness and nervousness that occurs. Even if the your date does not end up being your type physically, you can still keep in touch and remain good friends. Just go out and have the attitude that you will have a good time and ENJOY YOURSELF!! If your date is a complete loser, find some excuse ahead of time to cut the date short. No need to waste your time. First dates should be short anyways.

I find the most awkward part of any first date is how to end it and say goodbye. Suppose we both had a great time and things seemed to go fairly well? What about a second date? Unless I am meeting a woman with whom I am totally turned off by, I will usually bring up getting together again. I find that you really need to go out multiple times before getting to know someone. One date is just not enough in my opinion. Maybe the next date can be something like going to a new release movie together or going to a concert.

I certainly want to wish the best of luck to anyone planning on meeting someone new for the first time. In this day and age of internet dating, profiles and the way they are written and presented can tell a lot about a person and who they are. But nothing can replace the actual first face to face meeting between a couple. I certainly know that awkward and nervous feeling that a person goes through during this process because I have been through it several times. But that feeling of awkwardness should disappear during the date and you might end up feeling like you have known your date for several years.

Leave a Reply

