Things I like and do not like about Christmas

In just a few days, people around the world will celebrate another edition of Christmas. It is my favorite holiday of the year without a doubt. In fact, I would be willing to guess that I fit in with a majority of people who just love this time of the year. It is indeed a very special time for many people. My list of things that I love about this holiday far outweigh any negatives. Yes, there are some negative things that I have about Christmas. So without any further delays, let me get started.

The Negatives:

1. Stress.  I find the few weeks leading up to Christmas to be the most stressful and busiest of the year. On top of your regular duties like work and other stuff, you have that extra shopping to do and figuring out what gifts to buy for people. There are many Christmas social events to go to, office parties and so on. Many people unfortunately are just too busy in their lives to enjoy this time of the year. I always try to take some time off around Christmas to relax and enjoy the season.

2. Corny Christmas songs.  Don’t get me wrong, I love good Christmas music but some of the worst songs ever are Christmas songs like that “Mommy kissed Santa Claus” or “I want a hippopotamus for Christmas”.  Those songs bring serious pain to my ears!

3. Dicey travel.  Winter weather and traveling are not always compatible. The most stressful part of the season can be traveling to and from your destination. Believe me, I have had my share of travel stories during the Christmas season.

4. Crowded shopping malls.  There is nothing worse than being trapped inside some crowded shopping mall when it is nearly impossible to get from point A to point B. Or when you have to wait in line forever in the checkout lines only to be given some fake greeting by an overstressed cashier.

5. Life’s downers are magnified.  Some people have lost loved ones shortly before Christmas and those losses tend to sting a little more. An example would be the Newtown shootings of last year. Or maybe a relationship ended and you are down in the dumps. Seeing everyone happy around you is difficult to take.

6. The end.  I think most people feel a little down when Christmas is over. The buildup for so many weeks, then it is all over. I know I feel a little down when I give my final hugs to my family and head back home.

The Positives:

1. The family gatherings.  My immediate family lives out-of-town so those gatherings are very special to me. It is also a joy to spend time with my nieces and nephews during Christmas and watch them open their presents. One of my favorite things is to watch my youngest nieces and nephews open their presents and watch the joy and happiness on their faces.

2. Great food.  If you’re trying to lose weight, this is not the time to do it. There are tons of goodies to choose from and great meals. A typical person gains about 5-10 lbs during December.

3. The church services.  It just does not seem or feel like Christmas unless you go to one of the many church services on Christmas eve and day. I am really touched by the music during those services. It is a great way to celebrate what Christmas is all about, the birth of Jesus Christ.

4. Old time Christmas music and movies.  I could listen to classic old-time Christmas music all day during this season. Another way  that I get into the mood for Christmas is to watch a good Christmas movie on the Hallmark channel. They always have a great selection of Christmas movies on during the Christmas season.

5. The presents.  As I have gotten older, I really do not care about getting presents. I would rather give to someone more needy than myself. But I really enjoy getting that unexpected extra amount of cash from Santa or my employer.

6. The family traditions.  Nearly every family has some sort of family tradition on Christmas. My family has always started off Christmas by going to the first Christmas eve service followed by a meal before opening our presents. We gather again on Christmas Day for another great meal and get together. Other families have a much more sophisticated approach to celebrating Christmas. If you have a new, young family, it is time to start some new traditions and start developing some memories that will last a lifetime.

Those are just some things that I would like to share. I wish everyone out there a very Merry Christmas and may this be one of the best and most memorable Christmas’s ever for you and your family.

 

One thought on “Things I like and do not like about Christmas

  1. I agree with you about CHristmas songs… I love Christmas songs too but there are some songs that are not loveable at all. Like a sad christmas song… it’s like a sad love song that has Christmas word in it… For me, Christmas is to be a season of JOY, HAPPINESS, PEACEFULNESS. Just saying. hahaha 🙂

Leave a Reply

