Fun at the great Minnesota get together

Image

One of things that I really enjoy about living in Minnesota, besides our many lakes and beautiful scenery, is an event that takes places for 12 days leading up to Labor day. It is our state fair, which just so happens to be one of the biggest state fairs in the country. Nearly 100,000 to 200,00 people attend each day with the number being on the higher side during the weekend. It an event that I circle on my calendar every year. I greatly look forward to it every summer.

I went to my first state fair about 12 years ago. Prior to that time, I was worried about the hassles with parking and traffic, however, I found a great place to park and take a shuttle bus to the fair. It takes a lot of the worry and stress off about attending such a huge event. Since that first time, I usually make at least 2 trips, sometimes more to the great get together. I find that making one trip is not enough. There is just too much to see and eat that one trip does not satisfy me. 

People ask me what I like about the fair the most and the answer is very easy. It is the food!! It is as simple as that. Most of the food out there comes on a stick which leads me to what my favorite food items are. Until some food vendor can persuade me otherwise, my favorite is the pork chop on a stick. It is a huge grilled pork lathered with some of the finest seasoning imaginable. It is well worth the 7 dollars. I also like the corn on the cob on a stick, the homemade french fries, bratwurst and I know of a booth which has the best chocolate shakes on this planet. My stomach is just going crazy right now!! A lot of the food out  probably scores very low on the healthy foods ratings chart since many items are deep-fried. Even though I normally watch what I eat, the rules are thrown out during state fair time.

Whenever you have that many people in such a small lot of land, you simply cannot help but notice other people and I find the people watching to be another thing that I enjoy about the fair. There are people of all ages out there and they come in all sorts of sizes and shapes as well. I often find myself looking at what people wear or do not wear!! The viewing of the opposite sex  at the fair is very good to say the least!! There is never a shortage of hot looking babes or guys to look at. Despite the great differences in people, one common thing that I notice is that most people seem to be happy and enjoying themselves and I just love being a part of that kind of environment. The fair is meant for fun and people seem to be having plenty of it.

The final thing that I really enjoy about is the live outdoor music. There is a huge grandstand on the fairgrounds and many top bands and singers have played in the past several years. Besides the grandstand music, there are many areas that provide good entertaining music that is free. I always enjoy taking a break from walking around to listen to some good live music.

Besides those things, there are plenty of rides to go on and animal exhibits to see. What would a fair be without those things? It is really fun to watch the young children go on those rides and see the joyous expressions on their faces. I am not really a big ride kind of guy since I am a complete big chicken!! You could never get me onto one of those roller coaster rides.

The fair will end on Labor Day and that will be a sad day for many including myself. I wish the fair would last longer. I always consider the end of the fair to mean that summer is over. Those 12 days of the fair really go by fast but the memories of those days are among the fondest that I will have all year. Whenever, I drive by the fairgrounds in the winter, I always think about those days in late August when I am part of a huge throng of people just out enjoying themselves. Attending the fair has become a yearly tradition for me and besides Christmas, is one of my favorite times of the year.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

