A change to the 4th of July holiday

This Thursday, our country will celebrate it’s 237th birthday with events all over ranging from parades, cookouts, barbeques, family gatherings and of course fireworks. Personally, it is my second favorite holiday of the year behind Christmas. My birthday also happens to fall just a few days before the 4th so the holiday is essentially the summer version of Christmas for me. Despite all of those things, I would like to make a simple proposal to change the 4th of July holiday.

The 4th happens to fall on a Thursday this year which in the business world can create a few hassles. I imagine in the next few days, there will be a number of phone calls being made by many asking the same question, “Are you guys open on Friday?”  After celebrating the 4th on Thursday and staying up late to view the fireworks, how many of you want to get up and go to work on Friday, then get the the weekend off? It does not make a lot of sense to me. I am willing to bet that July 5th might of been the most requested day off of the year for employees across this country. I know it was at my company. The same thing applies to when the 4th falls on a Wednesday like last year.  I have a very simple idea that would solve these workplace dilemmas and make many workers and their families happy during this time of the year.

Why not just scrap the idea of celebrating Independence Day on the 4th of July each year and instead, celebrate it on the first Friday of each July? By doing it that way, every worker  is assured of having a nice long weekend. We could even stretch it further by calling it Independence weekend with huge celebrations on Friday and Saturday night. Many people would not have conflicts with work and could travel on that weekend. It would be a banner weekend for tourism all across this country.

Some day when I become president (yeah right!!) I will propose this change and I guarantee you that I will get bi-partisan support. Of course there will be those who will not want to mess with tradition and will protest the changing. But think about the many benefits of this proposal. To me, it is a no-brainer. Imagine if the Independence day celebrations took place on a Friday every year and stretched into Saturday. It would be the greatest weekend of the year.

Leave a Reply

