The joy of buying a new vehicle

There are few things in life that give a person more excitement over a purchase than buying a brand new vehicle. Perhaps buying a nice house would be the top item but driving out of a car dealership with a brand new shiny car comes in a very solid second. I personally experienced that thrill this past week. I have bought a few new cars in my life and the thrill never gets old. I wanted to immediately take off and go on a long road trip to test out my new vehicle, however, it was getting a little late at night and I had to get up for work.

I am sure many of you who are reading this probably have had a vehicle of some sort for a long period of time. That vehicle becomes a part of your life and you become attached to it. The many memories of those road trips, trips through the snow, times when that car or truck broke down in the middle of winter or perhaps you had some romantic dates with that vehicle. Such was the case with my old vehicle, a 2006 Saturn Ion. I still remember the day I bought that car on warm spring day in 2006. It was by far the best car that I have ever owned. Very reliable except for a few glitches. I had so many memories of that car, the long road trips to northern Michigan and Minnesota, driving through the streets of downtown Saint Paul and Minneapolis in all kinds of conditions and of course, driving around with my ex girlfriend in the front seat. But like most things, cars do not last forever especially when you drive about 13000 miles a year like I do. It was time to say goodbye to my car. I decided to trade it in and get a new one. Perhaps somebody new is now experiencing the joy that I had with my old car.

The salesperson at the dealership was outstanding and very thorough. I had done my homework ahead of time and pretty much knew what I wanted as well as the price range I was looking for. My sales guy showed me a couple of vehicles and one really stood out. It is kind of like being in a public place and some attractive person stands out in the crowd. I saw a vehicle which was just the one that I was looking for. It was a nice looking midsize car with a gold color. I asked the sales guy about the engine and horse power. Perfect!! I took it for a test drive and decided it was the one.

The financing part and all the paperwork is always a hassle. I several payment options thrown at me. The car was a little over the price range that I was looking for but I decided it was well worth it. The staff was outstanding in explaining the different options. I have good credit so financing was not a problem. After initialing several pieces of paper, the deal was completed and I was given the keys to my new car.

The next day, I pulled into my work parking lot and everyone was wondering who’s new car that is. I waited a few hours before coming forward with my confession. So did you get a nice raise? was a question that I was jokingly asked a few times. I still get some grief over that new car. People ask me if they can borrow it for a spin, wash it or switch cars for a day. But my asking price is way too high!!

I will never forget those days when I bought a new car. There are certain days you never forget and driving off with a brand new vehicle is one of them. I was grateful for the outstanding service and help at this dealership in Inver Grove Heights. They are true professionals and made my buying experience a very pleasant and relaxing one. I look forward to driving my new car this summer. It will be lots of fun to drive it to the golf course, lake and my annual summer road trips to northern Minnesota. I spend a lot of time in my car and having a new one is a great blessing.

Leave a Reply

