Thoughts on the Super Bowl

Well, the big game is just hours away.  My refrigerator is stocked with all the goodies I need so I am ready. However, for some reason, I am not as excited for this game as I should be. It just does not seem like the marque match up that I would want for a Super Bowl. Certainly both teams deserve to be there but I doubt  they were really the best two teams in the league during the regular season. But that is the beauty of the NFL and the unpredictable nature of the league. Last year, it was the Giants who shocked the world and this year, you have another Cinderella story with the Arizona Cardinals. 

I am rooting for the Cardinals for a couple of reasons. First of all, they are the underdogs and a few years ago, they were the laughing stock of the league. To see a team rise from the ashes like that and win the title would give hope to all those crummy teams in the NFL that you can turn things around in a short time. It would be a very inspiring story and I love to root for the underdogs. Second of all, one of my co-workers is a huge Steelers fan and his cubicle is decorated with all kinds of Steeler junk. For a guy to do that in Vikings country is just not right! He even has a Steelers logo on his car seat and I would hate to see what his home looks like. But he is a pretty nice guy and does not talk a lot of trash like many fans do.

I see a very back and forth game which will really be decided by turnovers. If Arizona can protect the ball and not turn it over against the fierce pressure of the Steeler’s D, they have an excellent chance to win the game.  The Cardinals are a different team in the playoffs because they are healthy again and will test the Steelers with so many weapons on offense. Still having said those things, I look for the Steelers to win the game 27-21.

Leave a Reply

